June 25, 2021

Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot: How would you vote? (Over the Monster)

The offseason is terrible, and very few things can distract me during this depressing time of year. The Winter Meetings are one, the beginning of Spring Training is another, and the final one (and the one that takes up the largest chunk of the offseason) is the annual Hall of Fame voting.

This year, the following names were added to the ballot: Derek Jeter, Bobby Abreu, Jason Giambi, Alfonso Soriano, Eric Chavez, Rafael Furcal, Josh Beckett, Heath Bell, Adam Dunn, Chone Figgins, Brad Penny, Carlos Peña, Cliff Lee, Paul Konerko, J.J. Putz, Raúl Ibañez, Brian Roberts, and José Valverde. In his final year on the ballot is Larry Walker. If he doesn’t get in this time around, he’ll have to wait around for a special Modern Baseball Era Committee vote (which is currently deliberating on such names as Dwight Evans and Lou Whitaker. Also on the ballot are holdovers Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Curt Schilling, and more.

This year’s ballot is distinctive, because once you get by the three most controversial names on the list, you are left with a much smaller ballot, that is among the least crowded we’ve had in recent memory. While few would complain about Scott Rolen getting…

Read “Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot: How would you vote?” at Over the Monster